Skip to content

Daybeds / Roundup

The Best Daybeds That Convert to a King

A pop-up trundle genuinely makes one wide bed out of two twins — and it is king width, not king length. Here is the arithmetic nobody publishes, and the frames that do it.

A single bed dressed in bedding with usable storage space beneath the frame

Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through one we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you, and it does not change what we recommend or how we rank it. Full disclosure.

At a glance

Quick picks

Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. Scores are our own, from the rubric on how we choose — not customer ratings. They score each product across the whole site, so the order here reflects how well a pick answers this page’s question, which is not always the same as the highest score.

#ProductBest forScorePrice
01
A single bed dressed in bedding with usable storage space beneath the frameIllustrative

ONBRILL Twin Daybed with Pop-Up Trundle and Storage Drawers

An 880 lb published capacity on thickened metal bars and ten legs — by a distance the strongest frame of anything that claims to convert to a king.

Two adults, and the capacity to prove it8.4
Check price on Amazon

#ad how we earn · we do not print prices

02
A single bed dressed in bedding with usable storage space beneath the frameIllustrative

Dream Solutions USA Twin Daybed and Pop-Up Trundle, Mattresses Included

Two innerspring mattresses in the box, and a pop-up trundle that rises to the daybed's own height — so the two beds actually make one level surface.

One box, two beds, no mattress shopping8.0
Check price on Amazon

#ad how we earn · we do not print prices

03
A minimal bedroom with a low daybed and cushions arranged against the wallIllustrative

Deolme Twin to King Daybed with Pop-Up Trundle

The most compact frame in this format at 71.6 by 41.4 inches, in velvet upholstery with USB ports in the headboard.

The smallest footprint7.6
Check price on Amazon

#ad how we earn · we do not print prices

04
A small bedroom with a wooden-framed bed set tight against the wallIllustrative

Costway Extendable Twin to King Daybed with Trundle and 2 Storage Drawers

The only frame here that publishes its extended footprint — 79 by 78 inches — and the only one that states a recommended mattress thickness.

—7.0
Check price on Amazon

#ad how we earn · we do not print prices

How we picked

Three criteria, in this order. First, does the trundle actually lift level — a roll-out that stays at drawer height cannot make one bed no matter what the listing calls it. Second, published weight capacity, because this is the one daybed format explicitly sold to hold two adults at once and the published figures range from 200 lb to 880 lb. Third, whether the manufacturer states a maximum mattress thickness, since the two mattresses have to match for the surface to come out flat. Nothing here has been physically tested; every figure is read off the live listing on the date in its spec block.

01Top pickTwo adults, and the capacity to prove it

ONBRILL Twin Daybed with Pop-Up Trundle and Storage Drawers

ONBRILL

A single bed dressed in bedding with usable storage space beneath the frameIllustrative — category photo, not this unit

An 880 lb published capacity on thickened metal bars and ten legs — by a distance the strongest frame of anything that claims to convert to a king.

What it's bad at

46.85 inches deep with the trundle stowed, which is five inches more than an ordinary daybed, and it does not publish a maximum mattress thickness — the one figure that decides whether the two beds actually level.

Our score — 8.4 / 10

Footprint6
Mattress7
Mechanism9
Renter fit10
Value9
Check price on Amazon →

#ad how we earn · we do not print prices

Specifications

Folded footprint
77.56 in. L x 46.85 in. D x 42.68 in. H
Open footprint
Not stated by manufacturer. Two standard twins side by side measure 76 x 75 in.
Clearance in front
The trundle rolls out and then lifts, so it needs roughly a twin's width of clear floor beside the frame before it can rise. No figure is published.
Doorway minimum
NOT STATED BY MANUFACTURER
Sleep surface
Two standard twins (38 x 75 in. each) when the trundle is raised
Mattress
Not included. Maximum thickness not stated by the manufacturer.
Fold mechanism
Roll-out trundle that lifts level with the daybed, plus 2 storage drawers on wheels with latches
Weight capacity
880 lb maximum recommended; the listing describes it as supporting 2 to 3 adults
Assembly
Required. 96.7 lb. Thickened metal bars and 10 support legs; engineered wood and metal; upholstered headboard, power outlet and a top shelf.
Renter-safe?
Yes — freestanding
Price
Check price on Amazon

Source: Amazon.com product listing, recorded 1 Oct 2026. Any field the listing does not state is marked as such rather than estimated.

02One box, two beds, no mattress shopping

Dream Solutions USA Twin Daybed and Pop-Up Trundle, Mattresses Included

Dream Solutions USA

A single bed dressed in bedding with usable storage space beneath the frameIllustrative — category photo, not this unit

Two innerspring mattresses in the box, and a pop-up trundle that rises to the daybed's own height — so the two beds actually make one level surface.

What it's bad at

350 lb maximum and an 8 in. mattress ceiling. The included mattresses are described as firm innerspring, which is a guest-frequency surface rather than something to sleep on nightly.

Our score — 8.0 / 10

Footprint8
Mattress5
Mechanism9
Renter fit10
Value9
Check price on Amazon →

#ad how we earn · we do not print prices

Specifications

Folded footprint
77 in. L x 41 in. W x 17 in. H frame — 25 in. high with the mattress on
Open footprint
Trundle is 72 in. L x 39 in. W and rises level with the daybed
Clearance in front
The trundle needs roughly its own 39 in. width of clear floor beside the daybed's 41 in. — about 80 in. of depth with both beds in use.
Doorway minimum
NOT STATED BY MANUFACTURER
Sleep surface
Two twins; the pop-up trundle levels with the daybed rather than sitting lower
Mattress
Two firm innerspring mattresses included. Maximum 8 in. thickness.
Fold mechanism
Collapsible pop-up trundle that lifts to daybed height
Weight capacity
350 lb maximum recommended
Assembly
Required. Metal frame with metal slat platform.
Renter-safe?
Yes — freestanding
Price
Check price on Amazon

Source: Manufacturer listing, dreamsolutionsusa.com, plus the Amazon.com product page, recorded 29 Sep 2026. Any field the listing does not state is marked as such rather than estimated.

03The smallest footprint

Deolme Twin to King Daybed with Pop-Up Trundle

Deolme

A minimal bedroom with a low daybed and cushions arranged against the wallIllustrative — category photo, not this unit

The most compact frame in this format at 71.6 by 41.4 inches, in velvet upholstery with USB ports in the headboard.

What it's bad at

Deolme publishes no weight capacity and no maximum mattress thickness. On a frame whose entire purpose is holding two adults level, those are the two figures you most need and neither is stated.

Our score — 7.6 / 10

Footprint9
Mattress6
Mechanism8
Renter fit10
Value7
Check price on Amazon →

#ad how we earn · we do not print prices

Specifications

Folded footprint
71.6 in. L x 41.4 in. D x 34.7 in. H
Open footprint
Not stated by manufacturer. Two standard twins side by side measure 76 x 75 in.
Clearance in front
The trundle rolls out then lifts, so budget roughly a twin's width of clear floor beside the frame. No figure is published.
Doorway minimum
NOT STATED BY MANUFACTURER
Sleep surface
Two standard twins when the trundle is raised
Mattress
Not included. Maximum thickness not stated by the manufacturer.
Fold mechanism
Pop-up trundle that lifts level with the daybed; USB charging ports
Weight capacity
NOT STATED BY MANUFACTURER
Assembly
Required. Velvet upholstered frame.
Renter-safe?
Yes — freestanding
Price
Check price on Amazon

Source: Amazon.com product listing, recorded 1 Oct 2026. Any field the listing does not state is marked as such rather than estimated.

04

Costway Extendable Twin to King Daybed with Trundle and 2 Storage Drawers

Costway

A small bedroom with a wooden-framed bed set tight against the wallIllustrative — category photo, not this unit

The only frame here that publishes its extended footprint — 79 by 78 inches — and the only one that states a recommended mattress thickness.

What it's bad at

A 200 lb maximum capacity, which is the lowest of any frame on this site and hard to reconcile with a bed sold to sleep two adults. The listing also calls it twin-to-king in the product name and twin-to-full in the description.

Our score — 7.0 / 10

Footprint7
Mattress5
Mechanism8
Renter fit10
Value7
Check price on Amazon →

#ad how we earn · we do not print prices

Specifications

Folded footprint
Closed footprint not stated by the manufacturer
Open footprint
79 in. L x 78 in. W x 23.5 in. H extended
Clearance in front
Extends to 78 in. wide, so it needs roughly 37 in. of clear floor beside the daybed for the second bed to pull out.
Doorway minimum
NOT STATED BY MANUFACTURER
Sleep surface
Two mattresses side by side. The product name says twin to king; the description says twin to full — confirm with the seller before buying mattresses.
Mattress
Not included. 6 in. thickness recommended by the manufacturer.
Fold mechanism
Roll-out extendable trundle plus 2 storage drawers (inner 31.5 x 15.5 x 3 in. each)
Weight capacity
200 lb maximum
Assembly
Required. 90.5 lb. Solid wood and MDF with wooden slats; no box spring needed.
Renter-safe?
Yes — freestanding
Price
Check price on Amazon

Source: Manufacturer listing, costway.com, plus the Walmart.com product page, recorded 1 Oct 2026. Any field the listing does not state is marked as such rather than estimated.

Everywhere else on this site we tell you that a trundle gives you two beds at two heights and that you should not buy one expecting one wide bed. That is true of roll-out trundles, which sit at drawer level — a Novogratz Bushwick trundle frame is 3.5 inches tall.

This page is about the exception. A pop-up trundle rolls out and then lifts on a scissor linkage until its deck is level with the daybed above it. Push the two together and you genuinely get one continuous surface. That is a real mechanism, it is what the twin-to-king listings are describing, and it works.

What those listings are much vaguer about is the size you end up with. So before anything else, here is the arithmetic.

It is king width. It is not king length.

Two standard twin mattresses side by side come to 76 by 75 inches. A standard king is 76 by 80 inches. So you get the full width of a king and you are five inches short on length.

What two twins actually make

Standard twin
38 x 75 in.
Two twins side by side
76 x 75 in.
Standard king
76 x 80 in.
Standard twin XL
38 x 80 in.
Two twin XL side by side (a split king)
76 x 80 in. — a true king

Five inches sounds trivial and it is the difference between a tall person’s feet being on the mattress and over the end. If that matters to you, the format you want is a split king — two twin XL mattresses — and almost none of these frames take a twin XL, because the frame length is built for a 75-inch mattress.

Check the frame length before you assume. The Costway extends to 79 inches long, which leaves no room for an 80-inch twin XL. The ONBRILL frame is 77.56 inches long, same problem. These are twin frames, and twin is 75 inches.

What this means for bedding

A 76-by-75-inch surface takes king-width sheets that are short, or two separate twin fitted sheets with a king flat sheet and duvet over the top. The second is what most people end up doing and it works better than it sounds, because the join is under the duvet.

First criterion: does the trundle actually lift level?

This is the whole mechanism and it is the thing to verify before you look at anything else, because the words in these listings are used loosely.

A pop-up trundle rolls out and then rises on a linkage until its sleeping deck matches the daybed’s. Two mattresses, one level surface. This is what you are paying for.

A roll-out trundle rolls out and stays down. It is a second bed at a lower height, and it is excellent at that — see the best daybeds with a trundle — but it will never make one bed, and a listing that says “twin to king” over a roll-out mechanism is overstating it.

An extendable or expandable daybed is usually a pop-up by another name, but confirm it rather than assuming. The Costway is described as extendable and publishes an extended footprint of 79 by 78 inches, which is consistent with the two decks meeting.

The tell on a listing is a stated extended or open dimension that is roughly double the frame’s depth. If a listing only ever gives you one footprint, it is probably a roll-out.

Second criterion: capacity, and the spread here is enormous

This is the one daybed format explicitly sold to hold two adults simultaneously, which makes the published capacity more important here than anywhere else on this site. The range across four frames is wider than on any other page we have written.

Published weight capacity

ONBRILL pop-up trundle daybed
880 lb; listing says it supports 2 to 3 adults
Dream Solutions USA daybed and pop-up trundle
350 lb maximum recommended
Deolme twin to king daybed
Not stated by manufacturer
Costway extendable twin to king
200 lb maximum

Two hundred pounds, on a bed sold to sleep two people, is a figure worth sitting with. It is not a reason the frame is badly made — it is a limit the manufacturer has published, and publishing it is more than Deolme has done — but it does not match the use the product name implies, and we would not put two adults on it.

The ONBRILL at 880 lb is the outlier in the right direction, on thickened metal bars with ten support legs. If two adults are genuinely going to sleep on this, that is the frame on this page built for it.

Third criterion: the two mattresses have to match

This is the part that catches people after delivery, and almost nothing in the category mentions it.

The frame levels the two decks. It does not level the two mattresses. So if the daybed has an eight-inch mattress on it and you put a six-inch mattress in the trundle, you have a two-inch step down the middle of the bed — and you will feel it exactly where two people meet.

Buy both mattresses together, in the same model and the same depth. That is the single most useful sentence on this page.

Then check the frame’s ceiling. The Costway recommends 6 inches. The Dream Solutions frame caps at 8 inches. ONBRILL and Deolme publish no maximum at all, which is marked as unstated in their spec blocks rather than guessed — on a pop-up mechanism the trundle mattress also has to clear the underside of the daybed frame when stowed, so an unstated limit is a real gap.

Which depth to choose is covered in the best daybed mattresses. The short version for this format: match the pair, stay inside the frame’s stated limit, and check the twin capacity specifically, because twin is often rated lower than every other size of the same mattress.

What it costs you in floor

A pop-up trundle does not escape the geometry. The second bed still has to come out sideways before it can rise, so you need roughly a twin’s width of clear floor beside the daybed.

Footprint, stowed and in use

ONBRILL
77.56 x 46.85 x 42.68 in. stowed
Deolme
71.6 x 41.4 x 34.7 in. stowed
Dream Solutions USA
77 x 41 x 17 in. frame (25 in. with the mattress on)
Costway
79 x 78 x 23.5 in. extended
Walkway to add on top
30–36 in.

So a frame about 41 inches deep becomes roughly 78 to 80 inches deep in use, and with the 30-to-36-inch walkway we use across this site — from the ADA accessible-route minimum of 36 inches of clear width — you want about nine to ten feet of depth measured out from the wall while both beds are up.

The compensation is that it is only committed while people are asleep in it, and the rest of the time you have a daybed. That is a better bargain than a permanent king, which is 76 inches wide forever.

Measure before you order — the routine is in how to measure for a sleeper sofa, and it applies to every format on this site rather than just to sofas.

The storage you lose, and the storage some of them keep

On an ordinary trundle daybed, the trundle doubles as an enormous flat drawer when nobody is sleeping in it. A pop-up trundle still does that — but two of the frames here go further and add dedicated drawers underneath as well.

The ONBRILL puts two storage drawers under the trundle, on wheels, with latches to stop them rolling open. The Costway has two as well and is the only frame on this page that publishes their inner dimensions: 31.5 by 15.5 by 3 inches each. Three inches is shallow — that is sheets and flat items, not a winter duvet.

The Dream Solutions and Deolme frames have no drawers, and on those the stowed trundle is your storage.

If storage is the actual priority rather than the king conversion, the comparison is in the best daybeds with storage, which covers drawers against trundles against open clearance.

Who should not buy one of these

Anyone who needs a genuine king length. You are getting 75 inches, not 80. If the person sleeping there is over about 5 ft 10 in, their feet are over the end, and no frame on this page takes a twin XL to fix it.

Anyone putting two adults on a 200 lb frame. Read the capacity figure before the product name.

Anyone who needs it to look like a sofa. A 42-inch-tall metal daybed with a trundle under it is unambiguously a bed. With a firm full-length bolster it becomes sittable — see how to make a daybed more comfortable — and it still reads as a bed.

Anyone who wants the floor back during the day. These are 41 to 47 inches deep permanently. A wall bed is 23.5 inches deep closed and gives the floor back every morning, if your ceiling and your lease allow it: daybed vs Murphy bed.

And if the second bed only needs to be a second bed rather than half of a king, an ordinary roll-out trundle is cheaper, simpler and has less to go wrong.

What we would buy

If two adults are actually going to sleep on it: the ONBRILL. An 880 lb published capacity on thickened metal bars with ten legs is the only figure on this page that comfortably matches what the format is sold for, and the drawers are a genuine bonus. Its cost is depth — 46.85 inches stowed is five inches more than an ordinary daybed.

If you do not want to buy mattresses separately: the Dream Solutions USA package, which includes two firm innerspring mattresses and therefore solves the matching problem for you by default. Its 350 lb ceiling is the constraint, and the included mattresses are a guest-frequency surface rather than something to sleep on nightly.

If the room is tight: the Deolme at 71.6 by 41.4 inches is the most compact frame in this format. Go in knowing it publishes neither a capacity nor a mattress limit.

If you want the published extended footprint: the Costway is the only one that states it. We would not put two adults on a 200 lb frame, and the listing contradicts itself on whether the result is a king or a full, so confirm with the seller first.

Answers

Common questions

Can a daybed really convert to a king?
To king width, yes, with a pop-up trundle that lifts level with the daybed. Two standard twins side by side measure 76 by 75 inches against a standard king's 76 by 80, so you get the full width and you are five inches short on length. A roll-out trundle that stays at drawer height cannot do this at all.
What is the difference between a pop-up trundle and a roll-out trundle?
A pop-up rolls out and then rises on a linkage until its deck is level with the daybed, making one continuous surface. A roll-out rolls out and stays low, giving you two beds at two heights. The tell on a listing is a stated extended or open dimension roughly double the frame's depth.
Do you need two matching mattresses for a pop-up trundle daybed?
Yes, and this is the thing people discover after delivery. The frame levels the two decks, not the two mattresses — so an eight-inch mattress on the daybed and a six-inch one in the trundle leaves a two-inch step exactly where two people meet. Buy both in the same model and depth, inside the frame's stated limit.
How much weight can a twin-to-king daybed hold?
The published range is unusually wide: 880 pounds on the ONBRILL, 350 on the Dream Solutions package, 200 on the Costway, and Deolme publishes no figure at all. For a format explicitly sold to sleep two adults, read the capacity before the product name.
Can you use twin XL mattresses to get a true king?
Two twin XL side by side are 76 by 80 inches, which is a true king — that is what a split king is. But almost none of these frames take one: a twin XL is 80 inches long and the frames here are built for 75-inch mattresses, with the Costway extending to 79 inches long and the ONBRILL frame at 77.56.
What sheets fit a daybed that converts to a king?
A 76 by 75 inch surface takes king-width sheets that run short, or — what most people end up doing — two separate twin fitted sheets with a king flat sheet and duvet over the top. The join sits under the duvet, so it works better than it sounds.
How much floor space does a pop-up trundle daybed need?
The second bed comes out sideways before it rises, so a frame about 41 inches deep becomes roughly 78 to 80 inches deep in use. Add the 30 to 36 inches of walkway we use across this site and you want about nine to ten feet measured out from the wall while both beds are up.

Sources

Keep reading