Skip to content

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Short answers to the twenty questions that come up across every category, each routing to the page that treats it properly.

Every figure on this page is the same figure used in the relevant specification block elsewhere on the site, taken from the manufacturer’s live listing on a stated date. No number appears here that is not sourced on the page it came from.

If your question is about whether something fits your specific room, start with how to measure for a sleeper sofa — six measurements, ten minutes — and then which guest bed is right for your room, which sorts the four formats by exactly those constraints.

If it is not answered below, email contact@foldandfuton.com or use the contact form. A question worth answering usually becomes a page.

Answers

Twenty questions

What is the best guest bed for a small space?
It depends on whether you need the floor during the day or the wall. A wall bed has the smallest permanent footprint of any format at 23 to 23.5 inches deep closed, and the largest temporary one — a Bestar Cielo extends 93.1 inches when down. A daybed takes 41 inches permanently and never more. A convertible sofa sits between the two on both counts at 33 to 35 inches closed and 37.6 to 44 inches open.
Is a daybed or a sofa bed better for guests?
A daybed, if the room can accept a bed in it. It takes a conventional non-folding twin mattress, so there is no fold seam and no crossbar, it has no mechanism to fail, and it is already made up when a guest arrives late. A sofa bed wins only when the room has to read as a living room — and then you are choosing appearance over the sleeping surface.
What is the difference between a futon and a sofa bed?
The mechanism. A futon in the modern convertible sense folds its own backrest flat and gains only four to eleven inches of depth. A sofa bed pulls a separate steel frame and folding mattress forward out of the sofa body and projects 70 to 90 inches from the wall. Everything else — the fold seam, the crossbar, the weight capacity — follows from that one difference.
How many nights a month justifies buying a Murphy bed?
Roughly twenty, or if it is somebody's own everyday bed. Below about six to eight nights a month a folding surface is adequate and a wall bed's cost and installation are hard to justify. Between the two, a daybed or a futon frame with an eight-inch mattress is the proportionate answer.
How much space do you need in front of a sofa bed?
The open depth plus 30 to 36 inches of walkway. The ADA accessible-route standard sets 36 inches as the minimum clear width for a route, and Bestar independently recommends 30 to 36 inches of clear movement space around an open bed. A Novogratz Brittany at 43.5 inches open therefore wants about 74 to 80 inches of total depth in use.
How do you measure a room for a sleeper sofa?
Six measurements: the clear depth from the wall to the nearest fixed obstruction (not to the opposite wall), the uninterrupted wall run at furniture height, the ceiling height at that wall to the lowest obstruction, the narrowest point on the delivery route, the assembled weight against your stairs, and the sleep surface the person actually needs.
What is the smallest sleeper sofa that still sleeps an adult?
Of the models we cover, the Serta Rane at 66.1 inches wide and 33.1 inches deep. It opens to 66.1 by 37.6 inches, which its own listing calls a full short twin — one adult, comfortably, if they are not especially tall. It gains only 4.5 inches of depth when opened, the smallest gain in our registry.
Will a sofa bed fit through a standard doorway?
Check the shipping carton, not the assembled sofa. Standard residential interior doors are usually 30 or 32 inches, and dorm doorways run 30 to 32 as well. None of the manufacturers in this category publishes a doorway minimum, so the carton dimensions on the delivery tab are what you have to work from — and the narrowest point on the route is usually a stairwell turn rather than a door.
Are futons comfortable to sleep on?
It depends almost entirely on mattress depth. Below about six inches most adults feel the frame or the floor within a couple of nights, and side sleepers feel it on the first. At eight inches with independently encased pocket coils, a futon is a genuine bed. A convertible futon sofa sits outside that scale, because there is no mattress at all — you are on upholstery foam with a seam across it.
Can you sleep on a sofa bed every night?
Honestly, no — not comfortably, and not for long. A convertible puts a structural fold seam under you that cannot be padded out, and daily sitting compresses the same foam you sleep on. A pull-out puts a crossbar under a thin factory mattress. For nightly use, a cabinet bed or a wall bed takes less permanent floor than a sofa and gives you a real mattress.
Are daybeds comfortable for adults?
Yes. A daybed takes a conventional non-folding twin mattress, so the sleeping surface is as good as the mattress you buy. The two real caveats are width — a twin is 38 inches, so two adults cannot share one — and sitting, which needs a firm full-length bolster before a 41-inch-deep frame is comfortable to sit back on.
Why can I feel a bar through my pull-out sofa bed?
It is a structural member of the folding frame, and it is on every traditional pull-out. You feel it because the factory mattress is usually only two to four inches thick and sits on a rigid deck. Replacing it with 4.5 inches of gel memory foam — about the thickest most fold-out frames will close on — is the standard fix and it works.
What ceiling height do you need for a Murphy bed?
Manufacturers publish it per model. Bestar's Cielo queen needs a minimum ceiling height of 88.9 inches, the Orion 90.4 inches, the Pur with sofa 91.1 inches and the Versatile 92 inches. Measure at the wall the cabinet will be anchored to, and measure to the lowest obstruction on that wall rather than to the ceiling in the middle of the room.
How far does a Murphy bed stick out when it is open?
About 86 to 93 inches from the wall for a queen. A Bestar Cielo extends 93.1 inches, the Orion 92.7, the Pur with sofa 92, and a Lori vertical queen 86.2. Bestar recommends 30 to 36 inches of clear movement space around the open bed on top of that.
Can renters install a Murphy bed?
It depends on the format. A freestanding cabinet bed needs no permission at all because nothing is modified — Arason states the Creden-ZzZ requires no bolting to floor or wall. A stud-anchored panel bed needs a handful of screws into studs, which most landlords treat like a mounted shelf. A dual-mount wall bed anchors to the floor as well, and that is usually what a lease prohibits.
Are Murphy beds safe?
Yes, on two conditions: the bed is anchored into structure rather than drywall, and the mattress is inside the manufacturer's stated weight and thickness range. Bestar rates its queen wall beds to 1,000 pounds including the mattress, so the engineering is not the weak point — installation and loading are. Note the weight range has a minimum as well as a maximum, because a wall bed is counterbalanced rather than powered.
What size is a queen sleeper sofa mattress?
58 by 72 inches — for example the Classic Brands 4.5-inch replacement at 58 by 72 by 4.5 inches. A bedroom queen is 60 by 80. They are not interchangeable, and ordering a bedroom queen means the sofa will not close. Two other names mislead the same way: a cot-size tri-fold is 31 inches wide rather than a twin's 38, and a cabinet bed sold as queen can contain a 53-by-75-inch mattress.
How thick can a sofa bed mattress be?
About 4.5 inches for most fold-out frames, because the mattress has to fold into a cavity. A bi-fold futon frame takes eight inches, a tri-fold or cabinet bed about six, and a trundle drawer six or less. Measure the cavity in your own sofa rather than the mattress currently in it, which has already compressed.
Do you test these products yourselves?
No. We do not physically test these products, we are not a lab, and we will not pretend to be one. What we do instead is record the same eleven specification fields for every product from the manufacturer's or retailer's live listing on a stated date, and mark anything a listing does not state as not stated rather than estimating it.
Why do you not show prices, and how does this site make money?
Live pricing is not currently enabled here, prices in this category change weekly, and a stale price is worse than none — so every price slot reads 'check price on Amazon' and links to the current one. The site earns commission through the Amazon Associates Program when you buy through a link, at no extra cost to you, and that does not change which products we recommend or the order we rank them in.

Where to go next